Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal

(Association for Library Service to Children, ALA) (Since 1954)

Administered by the Association for Library Service to Children, the Award honors an author or illustrator whose books are published in the U.S. and have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. The award was given every five years between 1960 and 1980; it was given every three years from 1980 to 2001. Started from 2001, it has been awarded every two years.

URL:

http://www.ala.org/Content/NavigationMenu/ALSC/Awards_and_Scholarships 1/Literary_and_Related_Awards/Wilder_Medal/Wilder_Medal.htm

	Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal Winners
2003	Eric Carle
2001	Milton Meltzer
1998	Russell Freedman
1995	Virginia Hamilton
1992	Marcia Brown
1989	Elizabeth George Speare
1986	Jean Fritz
1983	Maurice Sendak
1980	Theodor S. Geisel (Dr. Seuss)
1975	Beverly Cleary
1970	E. B. White
1965	Ruth Sawyer
1960	Clara Ingram Judson
1954	Laura Ingalls Wilder

Compiled by LWLL, EMB. (June 2004)